Discover Romsey

Shamrock Hotel

Access this information with the QR Code below:

Originally a timber building, the first official licence for the Shamrock Hotel was granted to Patrick Kelly in 1860. Building materials for the hotel were carried to the site by a local bullock team. The Shamrock had accommodation for around 20 guests and provided stables for travellers’ horses and wagons.

In the 1930s, the front part of the building was removed and towed to a Stawell Street site and used to construct a house. A brick facade was added to the hotel building. It was reported that during the removal, there was a hunt for coins which slipped through the bar area’s floorboards. The building was used exclusively as a hotel until the 1980s when it was used as a men’s accommodation facility.