Like most settlements Romsey began beside a creek, which in this case was called Five Mile Creek as it was approximately that distance from the slightly earlier settlement of Lancefield. Romsey is named after a town in Hampshire, England.
The first land sales were held in Kilmore in 1855. Various allotments were sold from this time onwards, around the area reserved for a future township, later to be named Romsey. One of the earliest dwellings was built by Sidney Seymour in the mid 1850s and this unique cottage is now maintained by the Historical Society and can be viewed by arrangement, Tel: 5429 6522. An excellent book: ROMSEY: A Veritable Garden of Eden (by Peter Mitchell, Alan Jackson, Carol Moore, Gavin Smith) with input from Dr Greg Powell, Diane Powell and Joyce Jackson from West Bourke Books Inc. committee) now half price at $25, can be obtained from the same telephone number.
The Romsey district was rich farming land and provided a “food basket” for travelers to the gold fields in the mid-to-late 1800s. Potatoes were grown for many years, until WW2 caused farming to change to sheep and cattle. Now days Romsey still retains its rural charm and is part of the tourist attractions of the Macedon Ranges Shire with more people moving up for the life style and what the Macedon Ranges offers.
Romsey & Lancefield Districts Historical Society holds archives in local history at the Lancefield Court House. Research enquiries can be directed to Archivist Robyn on 0418 172 659. The society holds general meetings, guest speakers and functions, details of which can be obtained from the Secretary Shirley on 0418 172 659, or email email@example.com or write to PO Box 101, Lancefield 3435. Website: https://romseylancefieldhistorical.com.au/